Short Moments in a Long Day No 8 'Bedtime Story' for solo violin

Full details...
page one of Short Moments in a Long Day No 8 'Bedtime Story' for solo violin

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

In so far as there is a unifying theme to these eight pieces for solo violin it is the diversity of mood and experience that may characterise any ordinary day. Although conceived as a single work, in form closer to a Suite rather than to a Cycle, the pieces may be played separately. Each piece is loosely based on one of the eight traditional modes, rather than keys. It may be truer to say that the pieces are 'informed' by the modes as there is neither a strict adherence to the principles of modality, nor an evasion of diatonic harmony, but, rather, an exploration of the overlap or complementarity between the two systems. But, don't worry about the technicalities - just enjoy! The eight pieces are presented here individually, but they may be purchased, or listened to as a complete set - see store catalogue for details.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Solo instrument (Solo Violin)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Short Moments in a Long Day No 8 'Bedtime Story' for solo violin

Reviews of Short Moments in a Long Day No 8 'Bedtime Story' for solo violin

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...