Home > Solo instrument > Chinese Dragon Suite

Chinese Dragon Suite

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The inspiration behind this short, four-movement suite, came from the Chung family, who are originally from Hong Kong, but settled in Plymouth. Their three ’children’ are each very musical, and fine pianists. Isaac is the youngest, and I have dedicated this suite to him, and he gave the first public performance of the whole work in April 2003. The title of each of the four movements is self-explanatory, although I had better just say that the final piece, ’Dragon City’ happened also to be the same as that of their Takeaway Restaurant, not that I was advertising, of course!

Isaac is now studying Medicine, and his sisters are an engineer and accountant respectively, so they have done really well in real life, too! The attached picture shows him as a prizewinner at Plymouth Music Festival, when he was in the early years at grammar school - incidentally my old school, too - DHS Boys!


This opens the Chinese Dragon Suite. It’s a bright and breezy little number suggesting this more ancient and traditional mode of transport in a bustling Chinese town – the regular quaver / eighth-note pattern in the left hand could suggest the pedalling of the ‘driver’. Basically in ternary form, with a repeat, and with a more sonorous middle section, where the left hand has its own chance to ‘sing’, there’s even a little bit of hand-crossing at the end!

Pagoda Garden

The second piece of the Chinese Dragon Suite, this is a quiet and contemplative number, where the melody is set against repeated chords, sometimes in the right hand, sometimes in the bass, with the right hand crossing over, and also together in octaves. Balance between melody and accompaniment is something to be aware of here.

Junks in the Harbour

Rippling arpeggios and hands crossing over lead to a serene picture of boats in the harbour, with the gentle 6/8 beat adding to the overall calmness of the picture - the third piece in the Suite.

Dragon City

Named after the Chungs’ former Chinese takeaway, the essentially ‘poppy’ beat is supposed to suggest the busy venue and its coming and goings, while the bare fifths emphasize the exotic nature, and, in particular, the name of the takeaway itself, and the importance of the dragon in Chinese culture – it rounded the original suite off with some aplomb!

Each piece is also available separately under its individual title.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Philip R Buttall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.