Sonata for Violin and Cembalo in G (Prog Sonata)

Full details...
page one of Sonata for Violin and Cembalo in G (Prog Sonata)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This score is surely one of my favourite classical compositions. Its idea is that of a Sonata based on Prog Rock elements of the '70, but played on baroque instruments and with a real developement, instead of section repetitions, as it is usual in popular music of that style. If you are familiar with the music of that era , you will surely hear reminiscenses of King Crimson, Gentle Giant, Fairport Convention and Oldfield. It's an amusing piece of music, with a busy and unusually rythmical harpsichord part, ending with a Macedone Dance, in a swirly 9/8 Balcan Style.

Score ID
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sonata for Violin and Cembalo in G (Prog Sonata)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...