Matilda Goes Walkabout! (Flute & Piano)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Flute)
Instrumental parts

Matilda Goes Walkabout! has proved popular in a number of versions, from sax to wind band!
Top international flautist, Judith Hall, Australian by birth, now lives in South Devon, whilst still continuing her teaching and performing career.
I recently reviewed a recital where she was partnered again by top guitarist, Craig Ogden, himself an Australian.
Judy wanted to play ’Matilda’, and in fact the transposition down a semitone has worked well. Of course, this has now lead to a version for flute and guitar, which hopefully Judy and Craig will premier at some time in the future. This, too, falls quite nicely in D, with the E string detuned, and, following Judy’s suggestion, I have shortened it, which works really well to compensate for some of the necessarily slower tempi, when accompanied by the guitar.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.