Caprice Paganini for Two Flutes

Nicolo Paganini
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music
Duet (Flute)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Paganini composed 24 Caprises for violin when he was 23 years old, which are considered as a showcase of the most difficult violin techniques ever. Since the violin techniques come to the forefront, artists of other instruments may not have been interested in them at all. Many violinists, certainly myself, do not even enjoy listening to those, if not playing them. However, there are many beautiful melodies and harmonies in those pieces. My arrangement is an experiment to make Paganini's 'impossible' music somewhat friendlier and enjoyable to play with other instruments than violin, and to get the essense of nice music, forgetting about such things as double stops, up-bow staccato, bariolage, ricochet, harmonics, and so on.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Hatsuho M. Kuwayama. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Hatsuho M. Kuwayama has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.