New Orleans Counterpoint

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

This composition is a combination of modern classical and jazz music i.e. minimalist and aleatory music, in a jazz medium.

The idea is simple. Each musician has three phrases that he/she plays. They can repeat a phrase as long as they want, start a phrase on any beat, as well as stop and start playing at any point. Each part has a different time signature. Therefore, when two or more musicians are playing a chosen phrase it will be constantly evolving. This is the same idea that I used for my composition Migrating Souls only this time there is more freedom. Freedom is the crux of this piece. Because, personally speaking, jazz is all about freedom. Improvisation. Extemporaneous composition. By having the performing musicians decide what phrase to play and when to play it makes the piece more exciting because one performance will never be like another.

The audio clip that I have provided is eight minutes in duration. However, this piece will never be the same duration, as stated earlier, but I do want to point out that it cannot be too short. Performers need to allow each phrase to grow. This composition needs room to breathe. Allow the audience to experience the constantly changing rhythms, cross rhythms, dissonances, tension and release, colour and texture of the music before changing to a new phrase.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Reeves. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan Reeves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.