Swing Low, Sweet Chariot for String Orchestra

Wallis Willis
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Jazz music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Träumerei for String Orchestra, Cwm Rhondda for String Orchestra, Amazing Grace for Viola & Piano, Badinerie from Suite No.2 for Viola & Piano, Badinerie from Suite No.2 for Double Bass & Piano in E minor (Pro-version), Badinerie from Suite No.2 for Cello & Piano, Badinerie from Suite No.2 for Violin & Piano, Jasmine Flower (The) for solo Violin & Piano in F (Keith Terrett Classic String Series), Arrival of the Queen of Sheba for String Orchestra, Twenty Minute Tango for Double Bass & Piano (A minor), M’Appari Tutt’ Amor for Cello & Piano, M’Appari Tutt’ Amor for Violin & Piano, Twenty Minute Tango for Viola & Piano, Allegro from the Trumpet Concerto arr. for Viola & Keyboard, Lustpiel Overture for String Orchestra, Jasmine Flower (The) for Violin & Piano in D, O Mio Babbino Caro for Cello & Piano, Czardas for Solo Violin & Symphony Orchestra, Jasmine Flower (The) for Cello & Piano, Three Welsh Chorales for String Orchestra, Czardas for Double Bass & Piano, Czardas for Viola & Pianoforte, Czardas for solo Violin & Pianoforte, Two Arias for String Orchestra, What Shall We Do With The Drunken Viola Player?, What Shall We Do With The Drunken String Orchestra?, Lost Child for Solo Cello, Piano & Double Bass (Hollywood Film Score Series), The Saint’s Visit Havana with a Touch of W.A.M for Cello & Piano, The Gypsy Violist in New Orleans for Viola & Piano, Solveigs sang for Double Bass & Keyboard, Smaabarnas nasjonalsang for String Quartet, Scenes from Childhood (Kinderszenen) Opus 15, for String Orchestra, Jasmine Flower (The) for Solo Violin & Symphony Orchestra, Swedish National Anthem for String Orchestra, Von fremden Landern und Menschen for String Orchestra, O Sole Mio for Double Bass & Piano, Jesus Christ is Risen Today for String Quartet, Frankie & Johnny for Violin & Piano, That’s A Plenty for String Orchestra, Mitt hjerte alltid vanker for String Quartet, Mitt hjerte alltid vanker for Cello Quartet and Lullaby for a Violist, Piano & Double/E. Bass

Swing Low, arranged for String Orchestra.

Swing Low, Sweet Chariot" was composed by Wallis Willis sometime before 1862. He was inspired by the Red River, a tributary of the Mississippi, which reminded him of the River Jordon and of the Prophet Elijah being taken to heaven by chariot. Sung at rugby matches for decades it has now become associated with English players and supporters.

Keith has taken this emotive tune and set it for Strings in a gentle swing, featuring solo passages for each member of the ensemble. A sensitive, well thought out, arrangement that is suitable for recitals or as incidental music. Another great score by Keith.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.