Requiem, 6. Agnus Dei

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This Requiem is scored for chorus (SATB) and orchestra (2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings) and comprises seven movements: 1. Requiem Aeternam, 2. Kyrie, 3. Dies Irae, 4. Offertorium, 5. Sanctus and Benedictus, 6. Agnus Dei, 7. Pie Jesu. The scores for each movement are available separately. Composers have regularly made selections from the full Requiem, or inserted other material, to reflect their own theological or spiritual interpretation. The texts selected here are from the traditional Requiem and the whole is intended for either concert or liturgical performance. The inclusion of a Dies Irae -" with specially selected portions from a much longer text -" reflects not so much the traditional view of a dread judgment but rather a mutual questioning of things not understood. The Kyrie, Sanctus and Agnus Dei are also suitable for non-Requiem use. An alternative version of this Requiem is also available, where the orchestra is replaced by an organ. The organ should not be used in the orchestral version (but may be used in practice with the choir). The choral part is exactly the same in both versions.

Only the full orchestral score is available on this site but separate choral, organ and instrumental parts are available through scoreexchange on request, as indeed, is permission for any proposed performance.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Andrew Moore. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Andrew Moore has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.