Music for the Light Grinder (for brass dectet)

Full details...
page one of Music for the Light Grinder (for brass dectet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Music for the Light Grinder was written for the London-based, Brass On Draught!, to perform at a reunion concert in July 1991.

The title stems from the first line of a poem by Ted Hughes, ’Where the millstones of sky’, part of the collection "Remains of Elmet". This introduces the fascinating concept of the grinding of light by gigantic cloud formations and is vividly accompanied by some Fay Godwin photographs. Around the same time I was reading an anthology of Scandanavian folk-tales and these, combined with the Hughes/Godwin image, sparked off a new idea in my head of a Norse god, seated above the clouds, physically grinding light, which then falls through the chinks in the clouds upon a murky valley bottom.

The work is an attempt to convey the sheer power of the imaginary god and takes as its starting point a simple fanfare idea based on the interval of a perfect fifth. This is then treated canonically to result in some rather complex rhythmic ideas.

I’d love to hear of any performances!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Brass choir
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Music for the Light Grinder (for brass dectet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...