Violin I part from Sonata in G minor, Vol. I, No. 11, arr. for viola and string orchestra

page one of the Violin I part from Sonata in G minor, Vol. I, No. 11, arr. for viola and string orchestra
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Henry Eccles: Sonata in G minor, Vol. I, No. 11 (1720) arranged for viola solo and string orchestra by Joel Jacklich

I hope that this orchestration of an old "war horse" will allow many more high school principal violists to be the featured soloists at their high school spring concerts in coming years.

In this orchestration of the adaptaion of the original violin sonata, I have re-structured the sonata as a typical binary baroque sonata (AABB in each of the four movements), adding repeat signs, or writing out the (added) repeats with embellishments or octave transpositions to add some variety in the solo line on the second playback of the original (and adapted) material. Writing of the "original" material, there are numerous versions that also vary considerably in melodic and harmonic content: Salmon/Crowell, Paul Klengel, Paul Doctor, Milton Katims, etc. This version takes a number of melodic, harmonic, and structural liberties and is certainly not any type of "authoritative" version, but merely a challenging piece that will allow the violist to be featured as a soloist with string orchestra, rather than in typical recital format with piano where this piece is usually heard. The two bar intro is based on the freely-arranged version by Paul Klengel (1854-1935).

English composer Henry Eccles is from a family of musicians that lived in that second "golden age" of English composition just before, during, and after the greatest of native English composer–Henry Purcell (the first "golden age", of course, being the Renaissance with the likes of Byrd, Taverner, et al.) Henry's older brother John (sometimes referred to as John Eagles) was a well-known composer of music for the theater sometimes collaborating with Jeremiah Clarke. Another brother, Thomas, although a talented violinist, was a drunkard and was reduced to playing in inns and taverns. (cf., Joel Quarrington)

There is some discrepancy as to Henry's date of birth, and one will find it listed as 1670, 71, or 72; and there may have been another Henry Eccles (possible his cousin) further adding to the confusion. Henry was employed as a violinist in the "Royal Band" of Queen Anne. After her death, he eventually moved to Paris, where he was employed by Louis XIV. There, in 1720, he published his <em>Primier Livre de Sonates a Violon Seul e la Basse</em>. Whether this best-known eleventh sonata is actually by Eccles or not remains a mystery, as the volume in which it is included contains four outright acts of plagiarism of works by Giuseppe Valentini, a pupil of Arcangelo Corelli. Eccles' sonatas number 1, 4, 8, and 9 in the set "are taken almost note-for-note from Valentini's <em>Allettamenti per Camera</em>, Op. 8" (<em>Thresholds</em>, Mark Morton) casting serious doubt as to the authorship of all of Henry Eccles' works.

Henry Eccles
11 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.