Christopher Maxim

Christopher Maxim Email me
United Kingdom

Chris Maxim (b.1971) composes in a variety of genres, including choral music, instrumental music and songs. His UK publishers include Banks, Fagus, The Royal School of Church Music and Stainer & Bell. His principal publisher is Paraclete Press (USA) who now issue a number of the works formerly available on Score Exchange.

The Paraclete Music Monday series includes a feature on Chris, in which he discusses some of his recent publications. There is also a link to a video where he talks about his music.

Chris's music is performed around the world. It has been broadcast on BBC and American radio, featured in music festivals, and performed in such prestigious venues as St Paul's Cathedral, Edinburgh's Usher Hall, and the Wanamaker Store in Philadelphia, USA. His popular organ piece 'Toccata Nuptiale' (Stainer & Bell) has been recorded commercially four times (in England, Scotland, the USA and Germany) and is on the diploma syllabus of the London College of Music. 'There is sweet music' (available on this site) was performed by Roderick Williams (baritone) in the 2019 Gloucester Three Choirs Festival . Chris's jingles for the BBC Music Magazine Podcasts have been used since April 2018.

Chris welcomes commissions and many have been published. Examples of commissioned works available on this site include:

  • 'The Jolly Shepherd' (SATB+organ) 2009
  • 'To God who gives our Daily Bread' (SATB) 2010
  • 'O how Amiable are Thy Dwellings' (SATB+organ) 2011
  • 'As Long as Your Eyes are Blue' (piano) 2013
  • 'I have loved you' (SATB) 2015
  • a setting of the Benedictus to the Roman Catholic version of the text (SATB+organ) 2017
  • 'Two Doves' (SATB+wind quintet) 2018
  • 'Altar Prayer at Petertide' (SATB) 2019
  • 'Liquorice Allsorts' (2 clarinets) 2019
  • 'Duet Suite' (2 clarinets) 2019
  • 'Glory to God' (solo voice) 2020
  • Arrangement of 'Slane' (singers+organ) 2021

To commission a composition or arrangement, please contact Chris via email.

Please note that anthems, motets and other larger choral pieces on this site are priced as they are because the purchaser is given permission to make multiple copies for their choir.

If you perform Chris's music, please email him to let him know. He is very grateful to musicians who have contacted him from as far away as Australia, Canada, South Africa and the USA.


YouTube site:

Score catalogue