MANNING, G. - Requiem for Chorus and Orchestra, Op.7

Year of composition
Latin Text
Difficult (Grades 7+)
50 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available





Music has always been the handmaid of religion. The Tridentine version of the Roman Catholic Mass for the repose of a departed soul, derives its name from the Introit which begins, with the text �Requiem aeternam dona eis Domine� (Give them eternal rest, O Lord�) and is basically identical with that of the normal Latin Mass except that in the Requiem Mass the parts of rejoicing such as the Gloria and Credo are omitted. Liturgically the Requiem Mass is sung at funeral services, anniversaries of particular deaths, and on the 2nd November being All Souls� Day. The sections of the Requiem vary with each setting and composer, and in some instances there are as many as thirteen. In this setting there are just seven; (1) Introitus et Kyrie with an attacca into an �a cappella� (2) Graduale; (3) the long 13th-century sequence Dies irae, (Day of wrath); (4) the Offertorium; (5) the Sanctus; (6) the Pie Jesu; and (7) the Agnus Dei where a small change occurs in the text where the words �Dona eis requiem� (Give them rest�) replaces �Miserere nobis� (have mercy upon us�).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.